sofia coppola + lavender + alaia

(Images from Fashionologie)

Back in high school I made a huge effort to go to the local arthouse movie theater and watch Lost In Translation when it opened in theaters.  I was amazed at the aesthetic, at how much I related to the film and both its feeling of displacement and the search for sympathetic qualities in others.  It really brought me into a whole new realm of appreciation for film and Sofia Coppola became somewhat of an idol for me.  It also marked my transition from awkward geeky preteenhood into becoming a young adult.  Cheesy, I know, but fashion and film and becoming a real artist all became much more important to me during this period of life.

I digress. I merely wanted to point out how happy I was to see the photos of Sofia getting married in Italy to her long time partner/Phoenix musician Thomas Mars.  Lavender, knee-length Alaia seems like such a perfect answer to a summer, civil ceremony with just close friends and family.  Both inspirational and aspirational.

Leave a Reply

